Backpacking Centurion Volume 2 – Lands Down Under – FINALLY Released 7th September 2020

Backpacking Centurion Volume 2 – Lands Down Under – FINALLY Released 7th September 2020

The 7th September 2005 was a day to remember for the Northern Ireland football team. By no mere coincidence, and five years later than billed, and fifteen years after the Healy74, on the 7th September 2020, I finally release the second volume of my long-awaited and forever delayed “Backpacking Centurion” series. It’s only the second volume, the third is yet to come (but of course all 3 volumes are also, already written and have been growing dust for years). Earlier in the year, I wrote about my first five book appearances and while I loved all of those, this new release is the bigger one and the more special one. The Backpacking Centurion series is where it’s all at for my journeys. This begs for a few questions as I prepare for the book’s release and so here, are the answers.

Backpacking Centurion Volume 2 – Lands Down Under – FINALLY Released 7th September 2020

Backpacking Centurion Volume 2 – Lands Down Under – FINALLY Released 7th September 2020

What is Backpacking Centurion?

Backpacking Centurion is Jonny Blair’s first printed collection of solo booksIt is a series of honest and real stories from his travels through the first 100 countries of his journey. The series begins in 1980 in Northern Ireland and takes us on a journey right through until 2015, in Spain (just after Jonny’s 100th or 114th country depending on your classifications). The book was written between 1991 – 2015 on Jonny’s journeys to 100 countries. From 2015 – 2020 it was edited on many ocassions and as a result needed to be split into different volumes, as the book was too huge.

Backpacking Centurion Volume 2 – Lands Down Under – FINALLY Released 7th September 2020

How Many Volumes are in Backpacking Centurion?

The answer to this is still unclear. At the start, in 2015, it was meant to be just ONE book – all 147 chapters were written and then 47 of them were cut to make one book. However that book was too huge and needed to be split into three main volumes. Those three volumes are currently being edited into separate books and will be released as follows –

Summer 2020 – Volume 1 – Don’t Look Back In Bangor. (available worldwide September 12th 2020)
Autumn 2020 – Volume 2 – Lands Down Under.
Winter 2021 – Volume 3 – Untitled as yet.
Potentially Spring 2021 – Volume 4 / The Chapters that missed the cut – Untitled as yet.

All four volumes are finished.

Here as a mini exclusive is the chapter listing for Volume 2 –

Chapter 36 – Hungarian Dancer
Chapter 37 – Blueberry Muffinhead
Chapter 38 – Hat-trick of Crescents and an Unstoppable
Chapter 39 – Floodgate Streetlight
Chapter 40 – Hereford Away
Chapter 41 – Xinying, Chiayi City and the Don’t Stop Living Globe
Chapter 42 – The Non-Existent 2 a.m. Bus to Taidong
Chapter 43 – Living in A Land Down Under
Chapter 44 – Dancing with Wolverine: Midnight in Canberra
Chapter 45 – The Defining Backpacker Victory Night
Chapter 46 – Broccoli Fields Forever
Chapter 47 – There A Bottle O’ in Wesley Vale?
Chapter 48 – A Dream Uninspired Return to Taupo
Chapter 49 – Diego Marijuana
Chapter 50 – Proper Frostbit So It Is
Chapter 51 – The Full Montevideo
Chapter 52 – Tres Fronteras, City of the East to Milton Melgar Town
Chapter 53 – Hi Ho Silver Mining
Chapter 54 – A Slow Bus to Cuzco
Chapter 55 – Quito Playing Games with My Heart
Chapter 56 – Swapping Cameras for Cows
Chapter 57 – Fright of the Navigator
Chapter 58 – In Of Africa
Chapter 59 – Sweet Home Parramatta
Chapter 60 – Where Did it All Go Kong?
Chapter 61 – Chris’s House Party
Chapter 62 – Seoul Mates
Chapter 63 – The X Man
Chapter 64 – Internations and The Business Of Travel Blogging
Chapter 65 – This Is The Day When It All Changed
Chapter 66 – Does South East Asia Deserve a Chapter?
Chapter 67 – Pub Crawl Cluedo: Bury Away
Chapter 68 – Chaos in Laos
Chapter 69 – Christmas in China
Chapter 70 – My Highest Birthday
Chapter 71 – Hyena Feeding in Harar
Chapter 72 – Pyongyangian Rhapsody
Chapter 73 – Staying in a Kibbutz in Israel

About the Author

Jonny Blair is a Northern Irish travel writer based in Poland. Jonny was born in Newtownards in 1980 and grew up in Bangor in Northern Ireland. Since leaving his hometown in 2003, Jonny has travelled far and wide, detailing his journeys on his one man travel blog, Don’t Stop Living. Jonny has visited over 180 countries across all seven continents including Iran, Ethiopia, Andorra, China and Suriname. Jonny has also travelled to some lesser known places such as the Republic of Uzupis, Podjistan, Nauru, Kugelmugel, Sark, Antarctica, Nagorno Karabakh, Iraqi Kurdistan and The Empire of Austenasia. As well as working as a freelance writer, editor, teacher and copywriter, Jonny has also worked in bars, hotels and restaurants as well as on ferries, in farms, in schools and in offices. Jonny writes every day in some capacity and is also a poet and a football fanzine editor. Aside from travel, Jonny is a passionate football supporter of Glentoran FC, AFC Bournemouth, Klub Pilkarski Starogard and Northern Ireland. Jonny aims to inspire other people to get out there and see the world with their own two eyes.

Product details

  • Paperback: 300 pages
  • Publisher: BookBaby (September 12, 2020)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1098315065
  • ISBN-13: 978-1098315061
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

CommentLuv badge