Countries Whose Footballers Have Won the European Cup / Champions League

This conversation came up in November 2019 in Prague, Czechia with some Northern Ireland football fans over which countries have had a player who won the European Cup or Champions League. I did a bit of research into it and I don’t know if this is 100% correct, but here is a try. I extended it beyond Europe and into North America, South America, Africa, Asia and (where appropriate) Oceania. I have also added in a few other facts at the bottom of the post. Please comment or message me to correct any mistakes.

I believe this is correct as of May 2021 but I have probably missed a few. Also – please note it doesn’t count Vienna Cup, Europa League, UEFA Cup, Super Cup, Intertoto Cup, Anglo Italian Cup, Setanta Cup or European Cup Winners Cup.

George Best playing for Northern Ireland in the 1960s.

Country – Player – Club

Argentina – Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Australia – Harry Kewell (Liverpool)
Austria – Franz Hassil (Feyenoord)
Belarus – Alexander Hleb (Barcelona)
Belgium – Eric Gerets (PSV Eindhoven)

Bosnia- Herzegovina – Hasan Salihamidžić (Red Star Belgrade)
Brazil – Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Bułgaria – Dimitar Berbatov (Manchester United)
Cameroon – Samuel Eto o (Barcelona)
Canada – Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich)
Catalonia – Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)

Cheatzerland – Shaqiri (Liverpool)
Chile – Claudio Bravo (Barcelona)
China – Dong Fangzhou (Manchester United)
Colombia – Iván Córdoba (Inter Milan)
Costa Rica – Keylor Navas (Real Madrid)

Croatia – Luka Modric (Real Madryt)
Czechia – Milan Baros (Liverpool)
Denmark – Peter Schmeichel (Manchester United)
Egypt – Mohammed Salah (Liverpool)
England – Bobby Charlton (Manchester United)
Faroe Islands
Finland – Sami Hyppia (Liverpool)
France – Jean Pierre Papin (AC Milan)
Georgia – Kakha Kaladze (AC Milan)
Germany – Toni Kroos (Real Madryt)
Ghana – Abedi Pele (Marseille)
Guinea – Naby Keita (Liverpool)
Hungary – Ferenc Puskas (Real Madryt)

Iceland – Eidur Gudjohnsen (Barcelona)
Italy – Paolo Maldini (AC Milan)
Ivory Coast – Didier Drogba (Chelsea)
Kenya – McDonald Mariga Wanyama (Internazionale)
Kosovo – Stevan Stojanović (Red Star Belgrade 1999)
Lithuania – Edgaras Jankauskas (FC Porto 2004)
Mali – Djimi Traoré (Liverpool 2005)
Mexico – Rafael Márquez (Barcelona 2011)
Montenegro – Dejan Savicevic (Red Star Belgrade 1991)
Morocco – Achraf Hakimi (Real Madrid 2018)
Netherlands – Ruud Gullit (AC Milan 1990)

Nigeria – Nwanko Kanu (Ajax 1995)
Northern Ireland – George Best (Manchester United 1967)
Northern Macedonia – Goran Pandev (Inter Milan )
Norway – Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (Manchester United)

Paraguay – Roque Santa Cruz (Bayern 2001)
Peru – Victor Benitez
Poland – Jerzy Dudek (Liverpool 2005)
Portugal – Luis Figo (Real Madryt)
Republic of Ireland – Roy Keane (Manchester United 1999)
Romania – Gheorge Hagi (Steaua Bucharest 1986)
Russia – Dmitri Alenichev (FC Porto)
San Marino – Massimo Bonini (Juventus 1985)
Scotland – Denis Law (Manchester United 1968)
Senegal – Sadio Mane (Liverpool 2019)
Serbia – Velibor Vasović
Serbia and Montenegro – Perica Ognjenovic (Real Madrid 2000)

Slovenia – Krhin (Internazionale 2010)
South Africa – Benni McCarthy (FC Porto 2004)
South Korea – Park Ji-Sung (Manchester United 2008)
Spain – Hector Rial (Real Madrid 1956)

Sweden – Kurt Hamrin (AC Milan 1969)
The Vatican City
Trinidad and Tobago – Dwight Yorke (Manchester United 1999)
Ukraine – Andrei Shevchenko (AC Milan)
Uruguay – Luis Suarez (Barcelona 2015)
USA – Zak Whitbread (Liverpool 2005)
Venezuela – Jeffren (Barcaelona 2011)
Wales – Gareth Bale (Real Madryt 2016)

Zimbabwe – Bruce Grobelaar (Liverpool 1984)

Jamaica –
Libya –
Suriname –

Northern Irish players in European Cup / Champions League Finals

George Best (1968 – Manchester United)
Martin O’Neill (1979 – Nottingham Forest)
Martin O’Neill (1980 – Nottingham Forest)
Jonny Evans (2009 – Manchester United)

Non FIFA / Extinct – Olympic countries with winners or runners up

Basque Country –
Catalonia – Andres Iniesta – Barcelona
CIS (Commonwealth Independent State) –
Czechoslovakia –
East Germany – Norbert Nachtweih – Bayern Munich
Great Britain – Ryan Giggs – Manchester United
Ireland – George Best – Manchester United
Monaco –
Saarland –
West Germany – Andreas Brehme – Bayern Munich
Yugoslavia – Robert Prosinečki – Red Star Belgrade

Countries Who Have Had Players Lose in Final but Never Win It

Algeria – Rabah Madjer (FC Porto)
Angola – Vata (Benfica)
Belarus – Alexander Hleb (Arsenal)
Chile – Mark Gonzalez (Liverpool)
Democratic Republic of Congo – Shabani Nonda (Monaco)
Estonia – Ragnar Klavan (Liverpool)
Ecuador – Antonio Valencia (Manchester United)
Gabon – Mario René Junior Lemina (Juventus)
Greece – Akis Zikos (Monaco)
Japan – Takashi Usami (Bayern Munich)
Morocco – Medhi Benatia (Juventus)
Slovenia – Zahovic – (Inter Milan)
South Korea – Park Ji Sung (Manchester United)
Togo – Emannuel Adebayor (Monaco)
Turkey – Yıldıray Baştürk (Bayer Leverkusen)

Managers (extra)

Israel – Avram Grant (Chelsea)

Surprising Non-Winners

Gianluigi Buffon
Diego Maradona
Alan Shearer
George Weah

3 thoughts on “Countries Whose Footballers Have Won the European Cup / Champions League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

CommentLuv badge